Deming Chen

Deming Chen

Deming Chen

Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


Deming Chen Website

Research Interests:

Synthesis and architecture exploration for programmable logic devices; CAD for multicore and SoC under process variation; reconfigurable computing; nanoscale IC design and CAD; high-level synthesis (Behavior synthesis); design space exploration for SoC; and algorithmic design and applications.


Dr. Deming Chen obtained his BS in computer science from University of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in 1995, and his MS and PhD in computer science from University of California at Los Angeles in 2001 and 2005 respectively. He worked as a software engineer between 1995-1999 and 2001-2002. He has been an associate professor in the ECE department of University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign since 2011. He is a research associate professor in the Coordinated Science Laboratory and an affiliate associate professor in the CS department. His current research interests include high-level synthesis, nano-systems design and nano-centric CAD techniques, GPU optimization, heterogeneous system programmability, FPGA synthesis, SoC design, and reconfigurable computing.

He is a technical committee member for a series of conferences and symposia, including FPGA, ASPDAC, ICCD, ISQED, DAC, ICCAD, and DATE, etc. He also served as session chair, panelist, panel organizer or moderator for some of these and other conferences. He is the TPC subcommittee chair for ASPDAC'09-11 and the CAD Track co-chair for ISVLSI'09 and ISCAS'10-11. He is the program chair for SLIP'11 and the CANDE workshop chair in 2011. He is an associated editor for TVLSI (IEEE Transactions on Very Large Scale Integration Systems), TCAS-I (IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I), JCSC (Journal of Circuits, Systems and Computers), and JOLPE (Journal of Low Power Electronics). He obtained the Achievement Award for Excellent Teamwork from Aplus Design Technologies in 2001, the Arnold O. Beckman Research Award from UIUC in 2007, the NSF CAREER Award in 2008, the ASPDAC'09 Best Paper Award, the SASP'09 Best Paper Award, the FCCM'11 Best Paper Award, and the SAAHPC'11 Best Paper Award. He is included in the List of Teachers Ranked as Excellent in 2008. He received the ACM SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award in 2010. He is a senior member of IEEE.